US Government Solar Air Conditioning Program

The United States with the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA) (Public Law 110-140) and specifically Solar Air Conditioning Research and Development Program (Sec. 606) is using taxpayer funding of research and development of solar energy for 2008 through 2012.


(a) ESTABLISHMENT.—The Secretary shall establish a research,
development, and demonstration program to promote less costly
and more reliable decentralized distributed solar-powered air conditioning
for individuals and businesses.
(b) AUTHORIZED ACTIVITIES.—Grants made available under this
section may be used to support the following activities:
H. R. 6—186
(1) Advancing solar thermal collectors, including concentrating
solar thermal and electric systems, flat plate and evacuated
tube collector performance.
(2) Achieving technical and economic integration of solarpowered
distributed air-conditioning systems with existing hot
water and storage systems for residential applications.
(3) Designing and demonstrating mass manufacturing capability
to reduce costs of modular standardized solar-powered
distributed air conditioning systems and components.
(4) Improving the efficiency of solar-powered distributed
air-conditioning to increase the effectiveness of solar-powered
absorption chillers, solar-driven compressors and condensors,
and cost-effective precooling approaches.
(5) Researching and comparing performance of solar-powered
distributed air conditioning systems in different regions
of the country, including potential integration with other onsite
systems, such as solar, biogas, geothermal heat pumps, and
propane assist or combined propane fuel cells, with a goal
to develop site-specific energy production and management systems
that ease fuel and peak utility loading.
(c) COST SHARING.—Section 988 of the Energy Policy Act of
2005 (42 U.S.C. 16352) shall apply to a project carried out under
this section.
to be appropriated to the Secretary for carrying out this section
$2,500,000 for each of the fiscal years 2008 through 2012.